Who we are

CYMI (Catholic Youth Ministry Ireland) is an umbrella body that represents the various sectors of Catholic Youth Ministry in Ireland. These include diocesan, education (primary, secondary and third level), movements (youth groups and ministries), and religious congregations. The body sits within the Council for Pastoral Renewal and Adult Faith Development (PRAFD) which is part if the Irish Bishops' Conference. It has evolved from the work of a prior youth committee that developed and promoted a professional framework document for youth ministry in Ireland. The document is Called Together Making the Difference.

The primary aim of the body is to provide a network and support structure that promotes and creates a dynamic youth ministry in Ireland, in parishes, schools, universities and dioceses. This work is carried out through regular meetings of its members to share news and resources, through this creative and influential website www.cymi.ie, through social media, and through active participation in events and activities that promote youth involvement in the life of the Irish Church and beyond. We encourage you to support this work by informing us of any such events or activities you are organising or know about that would promote an active youth ministry in Ireland within the guidelines of the framework document Called Together Making the Difference.

Please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. with such details.

The body meets in committee form a number of times per year and is supported by the staff of the Pastoral Renewal and Adult Faith Development (PRADF) office in Maynooth. The committee is chaired by Bishop Donal McKeown (Auxiliary Bishop of Down & Connor) and is made up of representatives of the various sectors. The current committee is; Bishop Donal McKeown (Chair), Ms Orla McCarthy (Primary Education sector), Fr Michael Kelleher (CORI), Fr Martin Smith (3rd level IT chaplains), Mr Matthew McFadden (National Diocesan Youth Directors), Ms Trish O'Brien (National Diocesan Youth Directors), Mr Ger Gallagher (National Diocesan Youth Directors), Ms Bernie McCaffrey (National Diocesan Youth Directors), Ms Treise O'Callaghan (Youth Movements), Sr Jennifer Perkins (Youth Retreat Teams), Sr Anne Codd (PRAFD) and Ms Julieann Moran (PRAFD).